Saturday 19th June 2010

Coach Rangers 3 Holly Bush United 3
(after extra time, Holly Bush won 4-2 on penalties)
Bill Redfern Memorial Cup Final
At: Osmaston Polo Ground
Kick-off: 7-00 pm
Admission: none; Programme: free (8 pages)
Attendance: 85 (headcount)
Weather: sunny
Duration (45): first-half: 45:39; second-half: 48:13
Extra time (10): first-half: 11:19; second-half: 10.00

Summer League's 2010 Bill Redfern Memorial Cup Final was a thrilling encounter between two sides who really wanted to win. Holly Bush took command with two early goals both netted by Brent Freeman in the 11th and 12th minutes. Richard Smith pulled a goal back in the 28th minute and a spectacular own goal from Simon Thorniwell got Coach back on level terms. Neither side could find a winner in the remaining hour so the Final went to extra time. Neil Bennett converted a 94th minute penalty to put Holly Bush back in front but Coach showed great spirit to equalise again through Jiimmy Carter. Still level at full time, the game was decided by penalties and Holly Bush won the shoot-out 4-2.

Coach Rangers (yellow/black/black): 1. Simon Hellaby, 2. Adrian Roberts, 4. Martyn Taylor, 12. Dave Shipley, 3. Paul Godfrey, 9. Sam Howard, 11. Ross Armstrong, 5. Richard Smith, 8. Simon Wint, 14. James Carter (capt), 7. Kevin Millward. Subs: 10. Dec Bacon (for Armstrong, ht), 15. Craig Frith (for Roberts, ht), 17. Wayne Taylor (for Frith, 88), Ryan Robinson (not used), GK. Sean Jones (not used).

Holly Bush United (white/black/black): 7gk. Paul Thomas, 4. Scott Wightman, 7. Ben Rushby, 5.Neil Bennett, 8. Simon Thorniwell, 15. Philip Sessions, 11. Ben Adcock, 12. Chris Smith, 3. James Beech, 10. James Rushby (capt), 1. Brent Freeman. Subs: 2. James Crawford (for James Rushby, 72), 14. Rob Prince (not used), 6. John Gadsby (not used), GK. Piers Beeston (not used).

Referee: Roland Smith.
Assistants: Chris Cope and Jim Conway.

0-1 Brent Freeman (11)
0-2 Brent Freeman (12)
1-2 Richard Smith (28)
2-2 Simon Thorniwell (32 og)
2-3 Neil Bennett (94 pen)
3-3 James Carter (100+1)

0-0 HB Neil Bennett missed
1-0 CR Simon Wint scored
1-1 HB Chris Smith scored
1-1 CR Richard Smith saved
1-2 HB Ben Rushby scored
2-2 CR James Carter scored
2-3 HB Brent Freeman scored
2-3 CR Dave Shipley saved
2-4 HB Ben Adcock scored

Coach: none.
Holly Bush: none.